Vuelta Espana K.O.M. (Montaña Clasificación) Winners

Founder, Mr. Mamil
Richard Caparaz 2022 Vuelta Espana King of Mountain Classification
Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) wearing the King of Mountains jersey in 2022

The Vuelta España King of Mountains Classification (Montaña Clasificación) is a secondary competition after the General Classification and Points Classification.

The King of Mountains Classification started the same year as the Vuelta España in 1935. Up until 2005, the leader wore a green jersey. Between 2006 and 2009, the leader wore an orange jersey.

From 2010 onwards, the King of Mountains Classification leader will wear a white jersey with blue dots throughout the race (except Stage 1). The rider who leads the classification at the finish of the last stage in Madrid will be the King of Mountains Classification winner.

Points are awarded to the first six riders to crest each categorized climb. The climbs are categorized as Cima Alberto Fernandez, Especial (ESP), 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, with ESP being the steepest.

Cima Alberto Fernandez is the highest point of each year’s Vuelta Espana. The Especial (ESP) is similar to a Hors catégorie (HC) climb in the Tour de France.

Multiple K.O.M (Montaña Clasificación) winners

51 different riders have won the King of Mountains Classification in 78 editions.

  • Spanish rider, José Luis Laguía won a record five times in 1981, 1982, 1983, 1985, and 1965.
  • José María Jiménez (Spain) won four times in 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001.
  • David Moncoutié (France) is the only rider who has won four consecutive times from 2008 to 2011.
5José Luis LaguíaSpain1981, 1982, 1983, 1985, 1986
4David MoncoutiéFrance2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
4José María JiménezSpain1997, 1998, 1999, 2001
3Andrés OlivaSpain1975, 1976, 1978
3Antonio KarmanySpain1960, 1961, 1962
3Julio JiménezSpain1963, 1964, 1965
2Emilio RodriguezSpain1946, 1947, 1950
2Federico BahamontesSpain1957, 1958
2Felipe YáñezSpain1979, 1984
2Félix CárdenasColombia2003, 2004
2José Luis AbilleiraSpain1973, 1974
2Julián BerrenderoSpain1942, 1945
2Luis HerreraColombia1987, 1991
2Omar FraileSpain2015, 2016
2Tony RomingerSwitzerland1993, 1996
Multiple Vuelta Espana King of Mountain Classification (Montaña Clasificación) Winners

Past K.O.M winners

2022Richard CarapazEcuador
2021Michael StorerAustralia
2020Guillaume MartinFrance
2019Geoffrey BouchardFrance
2018Thomas De GendtBelgium
2017Davide VillellaColombia
2016Omar FraileSpain
2015Omar FraileSpain
2014Luis León SánchezSpain
2013Nicolas EdetFrance
2012Simon ClarkeAustralia
2011David MoncoutiéFrance
2010David MoncoutiéFrance
2009David MoncoutiéFrance
2008David MoncoutiéFrance
2007Denis MenchovRussia
2006Egoi MartínezSpain
2005Joaquim RodríguezSpain
2004Félix CárdenasColombia
2003Félix CárdenasColombia
2002Aitor OsaSpain
2001José María JiménezSpain
2000Carlos SastreSpain
1999José María JiménezSpain
1998José María JiménezSpain
1997José María JiménezSpain
1996Tony RomingerSwitzerland
1995Laurent JalabertFrance
1994Luc LeblancFrance
1993Tony RomingerSwitzerland
1992Carlos HernandezSpain
1991Luis HerreraColombia
1990José Martín FarfánColombia
1989Óscar VargasColombia
1988Álvaro PinoSpain
1987Luis HerreraColombia
1986José Luis LaguíaSpain
1985José Luis LaguíaSpain
1984Felipe YáñezSpain
1983José Luis LaguíaSpain
1982José Luis LaguíaSpain
1981José Luis LaguíaSpain
1980Juan FernándezSpain
1979Felipe YáñezSpain
1978Andrés OlivaSpain
1977Pedro TorresSpain
1976Andrés OlivaSpain
1975Andrés OlivaSpain
1974José Luis AbilleiraSpain
1973José Luis AbilleiraSpain
1972José Manuel FuenteSpain
1971Joop ZoetemelkNetherlands
1970Agustín TamamesSpain
1969Luis OcañaSpain
1968Francisco GabicaSpain
1967Mariano DíazSpain
1966Gregorio San MiguelSpain
1965Julio JiménezSpain
1964Julio JiménezSpain
1963Julio JiménezSpain
1962Antonio KarmanySpain
1961Antonio KarmanySpain
1960Antonio KarmanySpain
1959Antonio SuárezSpain
1958Federico BahamontesSpain
1957Federico BahamontesSpain
1956Nino DefilippisItaly
1955Giuseppe BurattiItaly
1950Emilio RodriguezSpain
1948Bernardo RuizSpain
1947Emilio RodriguezSpain
1946Emilio RodriguezSpain
1945Julián BerrenderoSpain
1942Julián BerrenderoSpain
1941Fermin TruebaSpain
1936Salvador MolinaSpain
1935Edoardo MolinarItaly
Past Vuelta Espana K.O.M. winners

How K.O.M. points are awarded

The points are awarded according to the table below.

Clinb category1st2nd3rd4th5th6th
Cima Alberto Fernandez201510642
Especial (ESP)1510642
Vuelta Espana King of Mountain Classification Points Allocation
Alex Lee at Mr.Mamil

Alex Lee is the founder and editor-at-large of Mr. Mamil. Coming from a professional engineering background, he breaks down technical cycling nuances into an easy-to-understand and digestible format here.

He has been riding road bikes actively for the past 12 years and started racing competitively in the senior category during the summer recently.