The 16 Riders with the Most Vuelta Espana Stage Wins

Founder, Mr. Mamil
Sepp Kuss wins sixth stage 2023 Vuelta a España in style
Sepp Kuss wins Stage 6 of the 2023 Vuelta Espana

16 different riders have won 10 or more stage wins in the Vuelta Espana since its inception in 1935. Three have passed away, while two are still active (Alejandro Valverde and John Degenkolb) in 2022.

The Spanish rider, Dello Rodriguez (19 April 1916 – 14 January 1994) has the most stage wins with 39. His last win was in 1947.

Italian sprinter, Alessandro Petacchi is second with 20 stage wins. His last win was in Stage 7 of the 2010 edition. He won five stages each in 2003 (Stage 3, 5, 12, 14, and 21) and 2005 (3, 4, 8, 12, and 21).

Belgian Rik Van Looy, and Frenchman Laurent Jalabert both have won 18 stages.

RiderNationalityStage winsLast win
Delio RodríguezSpain391947
Alessandro PetacchiItaly202010
Rik Van LooyBelgium181965
Laurent JalabertFrance181997
Sean KellyIreland161988
Gerben KarstensNetherlands141976
Freddy MaertensBelgium131977
Alejandro ValverdeSpain132019
Tony RomingerSwitzerland121996
Marcel WüstGermany121999
Julián BerrenderoSpain111947
Augustin TamamesSpain111975
Domingo PerurenaSpain111978
Eddy PlanckaertBelgium101966
Roberto HerasSpain102005
John DegenkolbGermany102015
Multiple Vuelta Espana Stage Winners
Alex Lee at Mr.Mamil

Alex Lee is the founder and editor-at-large of Mr. Mamil. Coming from a professional engineering background, he breaks down technical cycling nuances into an easy-to-understand and digestible format here.

He has been riding road bikes actively for the past 12 years and started racing competitively in the senior category during the summer recently.