Who Won the Tour de France Green Jersey?

Founder, Mr. Mamil

The Points Classification (classement par points) in the Tour de France was first introduced in 1953.

It’s also called the green jersey or sprinters’ competition and is the second most important classification after the General Classification.

The rider leading the Points Classification wears the green jersey from Day 2 to Day 21. Each day, there are points on offer on intermediate sprint points and stages with a sprint finish. Points are offered for the first fifteen riders across the sprint points, ranging from 50 (first) to 1 (fifteenth).

Before the Tour de France starts, the organizers will classify each stage as Flat, Hilly, Mountainous, or Time Trial. Flat stages have higher sprint points compared to Mountainous stages. Since 2019, changes have been made to how the points are awarded and favor a sprinter that can climb relatively well on hilly stages compared to an all-out sprinter.

Points Classification winners, 1953 to present

Wout van Aert in Green Jersey
Wout van Aert won the Green Jersey in 2022

Wout van Aert won the Green Jersey in 2022.

2022Wout van AertBelgium480
2021Mark CavendishGreat Britain337
2020Sam BennettIreland380
2019Peter SaganSlovakia316
2018Peter SaganSlovakia477
2017Michael MatthewsAustralia370
2016Peter SaganSlovakia470
2015Peter SaganSlovakia432
2014Peter SaganSlovakia431
2013Peter SaganSlovakia409
2012Peter SaganSlovakia421
2011Mark CavendishGreat Britain334
2010Alessandro PetacchiItaly243
2009Thor HushovdNorway280
2008Óscar FreireSpain270
2007Tom BoonenBelgium256
2006Robbie McEwenAustralia288
2005Thor HushovdNorway194
2004Robbie McEwenAustralia272
2003Baden CookeAustralia216
2002Robbie McEwenAustralia280
2001Erik ZabelGermany252
2000Erik ZabelGermany321
1999Erik ZabelGermany323
1998Erik ZabelGermany327
1997Erik ZabelGermany350
1996Erik ZabelGermany335
1995Laurent JalabertFrance333
1994Djamolidine AbdoujaparovUzbekistan322
1993Djamolidine AbdoujaparovUzbekistan298
1992Laurent JalabertFrance293
1991Djamolidine AbdoujaparovUzbekistan316
1990Olaf LudwigGermany256
1989Sean KellyIreland277
1988Eddy PlanckaertBelgium278
1987Jean-Paul van PoppelNetherlands263
1986Eric VanderaerdenBelgium277
1985Sean KellyIreland434
1984Frank HosteBelgium322
1983Sean KellyIreland360
1982Sean KellyIreland429
1981Freddy MaertensBelgium428
1980Rudy PevenageBelgium194
1979Bernard HinaultFrance253
1978Freddy MaertensBelgium242
1977Jacques EsclassanFrance236
1976Freddy MaertensBelgium293
1975Rik Van LindenBelgium342
1974Patrick SercuBelgium283
1973Herman Van SpringelBelgium187
1972Eddy MerckxBelgium196
1971Eddy MerckxBelgium202
1970Walter GodefrootBelgium212
1969Eddy MerckxBelgium244
1968Franco BitossiItaly241
1967Jan JanssenNetherlands154
1966Willy PlanckaertBelgium211
1965Jan JanssenNetherlands144
1964Jan JanssenNetherlands208
1963Rik Van LooyBelgium275
1962Rudi AltigGermany173
1961André DarrigadeFrance174
1960Jean GraczykFrance74
1959André DarrigadeFrance613
1958Jean GraczykFrance347
1957Jean ForestierFrance301
1956Stan OckersBelgium280
1955Stan OckersBelgium322
1954Ferdinand KüblerSwitzerland215.5
1953Fritz SchärSwitzerland271
Tour de France Green Jersey winners

Most Points Classification wins

14 riders have won the Point Classification more than once.

Peter Sagan has won seven green jerseys in the last 10 years, followed by Erik Zabel with six wins and Sean Kelly with four wins.

7Peter SaganSlovakia2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019
6Erik ZabelGermany1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001
4Sean KellyIreland1982, 1983, 1985, 1989
3Jan JanssenNetherlands1964, 1965, 1967
3Eddy MerckxBelgium1969, 1971, 1972
3Freddy MaertensBelgium1976, 1978, 1981
3Djamolidine AbdoujaparovUzbekistan1991, 1993, 1994
3Robbie McEwenAustralia2002, 2004, 2006
2Stan OckersBelgium1955, 1956
2Jean GraczykFrance1958, 1960
2André DarrigadeFrance1959, 1961
2Laurent JalabertFrance1992, 1995
2Thor HushovdNorway2005, 2009
2Mark CavendishGreat Britain2011, 2021
Riders who won more than one Green Jersey

Most Points Classification wins by nationality

Belgian riders are the most successful in the Point Classification, with 20 wins with 14 riders. The last win was by Wout van Aert in 2022.

The Belgian riders also finished second on 18 occasions. The French riders finished third on 13 occasions.

Peter Sagan (Slovakia), Mark Cavendish (Great Britain), Thor Hushvod (Norway), Djamolidine Abdoujaparov (Uzbekistan), and Óscar Freire (Spain) are the sole winners from their respective countries.

WinsCountryYearsRidersLast winner
20Belgium1955, 1956, 1963, 1966, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1986, 1988, 2007, 202214Wout van Aert
9France1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1977, 1979, 1992, 19957Laurent Jalabert
8Germany1962, 1990, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 20013Erik Zabel
7Slovakia2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 20191Peter Sagan
5Australia2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 20173Michael Matthews
5Ireland1982, 1983, 1985, 1989, 20202Sam Bennett
4Netherlands1964, 1965, 1967, 19872Jean-Paul van Poppel
3Uzbekistan1991, 1993, 19941Djamolidine Abdoujaparov
2Switzerland1953, 19542Ferdinand Kübler
2Norway2005, 20091Thor Hushvod
2Italy1968, 20102Alessandro Petacchi
2United Kingdom2011, 20211Mark Cavendish
1Spain20081Óscar Freire
Most Points Classification wins by nationality
Alex Lee at Mr.Mamil

Alex Lee is the founder and editor-at-large of Mr. Mamil. Coming from a professional engineering background, he breaks down technical cycling nuances into an easy-to-understand and digestible format here.

He has been riding road bikes actively for the past 12 years and started racing competitively in the senior category during the summer recently.