Vuelta Espana Time Trial Winners’ Average Speed

Written by : Mr Mamil
Last updated :

The time trial (TT) is a unique cycling discipline where the riders use a time trial (TT) instead of their regular road bike to race.

There are three types of time trials held at the Vuelta Espana.

  • Individual time trial (ITT). Riders ride solo along a course typically between 40 to 50km long (25 to 31 miles) and completed in under an hour.
  • Prologue. Similar to an ITT, but under 10km (6.2 miles) long. The prologue usually takes place a day before Stage 1. This allows the riders to settle into the race before the hectic first week.
  • Team time trial (TTT) is competed by the entire team. The riders will ride in each others’ slipstream to achieve the highest possible average speed. TTT is a beauty to watch when executed properly.

Fastest individual time trial (ITT)

Below are 18 of the fastest individual time trial times at Vuelta Espana with an average speed above 50km/h.

RiderAvg speed (km/h)TimeDistance (km)StageStart / finishYear
Rubén Plaza56.2241′ 31″38.920Guadalajara – Alcala de Henares2005
Samuel Sánchez54.0922′ 11″20.020Villalba2007
Peter Velits52.3652′ 43″46.027Peñafiel2010
Eddy Merckx52.3512′ 2″10.517bHernani – San Sebastián1973
Ettore Pastorelli52.2919′ 58″17.41Santa Cruz de Tenerife1988
Abraham Olano52.0053′ 32″46.46Salamanca1999
Adriano Malori51.9611′ 12″9.721Santiago de Compostela2014
Abraham Olano51.6647′ 37″41.07Salamanca1995
Cabestany Pello Ruíz51.6213′ 22″11.51Benicassim1990
Aitor González51.6147′ 54″41.221Warner Bros Park – Madrid2002
Isidro Nozal51.541h 2′ 3″53.313Albacete2003
Bert Grabsch51.5057′ 5″49.08Cariñena – Zaragoza2007
José Antonio González51.433′ 2″2.611bBilbao1971
Álvaro Pino51.3325′ 43″22.021Jerez de la Frontera1986
Chris Froome51.3247′ 0″40.216Circuito de Navarra – Logroño2017
Tony Rominger51.0210′ 35″9.01Valladolid1994
Abraham Olano50.9447′ 7″40.09Alcudia1998
Tyler Hamilton50.9047′ 16″40.18Almusafes2004
Fastest individual time trial (ITT) at Vuelta Espana

Fastest prologue

Below are six of the fastest prologue times at Vuelta Espana with an average speed above 50km/h.

RiderAvg. speed (km/h)TimeDistance (km)Start / endYear
Roger Swerts56.605′ 18″5.0Almería1974
Fabian Cancellara54.005′ 20″4.8Assen2009
Abraham Olano53.507′ 51″7.0Zaragoza1995
Bert Oosterbosch52.366′ 25″5.6Valladolid1985
De Galdeano Igor González51.676′ 58″6.0Murcia1999
Thierry Marie50.926′ 43″5.7Palma de Mallorca1986
Fastest Prologues at Vuelta Espana
Was this page helpful?