Tour de France

The Tour de France is arguably the world’s most prestigious and challenging cycling race. Held annually in July, the race is a grueling three-week event covering over 3,500 kilometers (2,200 miles) through the French countryside and mountains.

Since its inception in 1903, the race has captured the imagination of cycling enthusiasts and casual sports fans, drawing millions of spectators worldwide to the roadside and television screens.

Get to know all the Tour de France winners and other interesting facts and statistics about the race.

Tour de France Logo

Giro d’ Italia

The Giro d’Italia, also known as the Tour of Italy, is one of three Grand Tours in cycling. Started in 1909, it is a three-week stage race held annually in May and June, covering more than 3,000 kilometers (1,850 miles) throughout Italy and sometimes crossing over to nearby countries.

The race is known for its challenging terrain, with the Italian Alps and the Dolomites presenting some of the most grueling climbs in professional cycling.

The Giro d’Italia has a rich history and is known for its passionate fans, stunning scenery, and iconic pink leader’s jersey. It has also been a proving ground for some of the sport’s greatest riders, including Fausto Coppi, Eddy Merckx, and Marco Pantani.

Giro d Italia banner

Vuelta Espana

Vuelta España, also known as Tour of Spain, is one of the three Grand Tours in road cycling. It is held annually in Spain during the late summer months and covers over 3,000 kilometers (1,850 miles) in 21 stages.

It was first raced in 1935 to promote cycling and showcase the beauty of Spain’s diverse landscapes. It is the last Grand Tour of the year after the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France.

The race has a rich history, with notable winners including Eddy Merckx, Miguel Indurain, and Alberto Contador

Vuelta Espana Logo

Cycling Monuments

Monuments are some of the most prestigious and challenging one-day races in cycling. These races are steeped in history and tradition, each with unique challenges and characteristics.

There are five cycling monuments, also known as the Classics; Milan-San Remo, Tour of Flanders, Paris-Roubaix, Liege-Bastogne-Liege, and Giro di Lombardia.

Each race presents unique challenges, from the long distance of Milan-San Remo to the brutal cobblestone sections of Paris-Roubaix.

Trouée d'Arenberg in Paris-Roubaix

Road World Championships

The UCI Road World Championships, also known as the Road World Championship, is an annual cycling event that crowns the world champions in different road racing disciplines. The race was first held in 1921 and has since become one of the most prestigious events in the cycling calendar.

The location of the Road World Championships changes every year, with various countries bidding to host the event. The courses are designed to challenge the riders with varying terrain, including steep climbs, technical descents, and flat roads.

Get to know the men’s and women’s Road World Champions who wear the rainbow jersey.

Julian Alaphilippe World Champion 2021